Chicago Flower and Garden Show at Navy Pier

We visited the Chicago Flower and Garden Show in March held at Navy Pier.  To be fair I had heard from a few people that it was not really worth a visit.  But I was looking for anything that would remind me of spring. It has been such a long cold winter and I really wanted to see some flowers.  What I thought the FLOWER and GARDEN show would encompass is not what was really exhibited.   Maybe call it the Chicago Landscaping show?

http://www.chicagoflower.com/

Tickets were $17 on the weekday, $19 on the weekend and children 4-12 were $5 each.  The show ran for two weeks toward the end of March.  I had heard on the radio that tickets were only $10 each if you visited Friday or Saturday nights after 5pm on the last weekend.  I didn’t want to pay full price for something I was iffy on to begin with.

We walked to Navy pier from our hotel a little after 6pm, the nice walk was a little over a mile.  The weather was warm and there were lots of people out walking toward the lakefront.  Seemed like a good sign and it got me in the spring mood!

We arrived to one open ticket window with no wait.  (In fact there were very few people in the general area.)  For $20 we had our admission to the show!  Up the escalator to the 2nd floor show area.

DSCN0920

 

This is the entrance to the show…

DSCN0919

DSCN0857

 

There were several display areas.

DSCN0859

DSCN0858

 

A floral artist area

DSCN0869DSCN0868DSCN0867DSCN0866DSCN0865

 

Lots of interesting landscape ideas

DSCN0860

DSCN0861

DSCN0908

DSCN0871

 

And several backyard options.

DSCN0863DSCN0862DSCN0910

DSCN0881

 

And beautiful displays…

 DSCN0893   DSCN0894

 

But the real flowers to be seen for were for sale in the market place. Bummer!

DSCN0885DSCN0890DSCN0888DSCN0887DSCN0886

These shovels were interesting.

DSCN0889

 

I did see some unusual things, like a waterfall table.

DSCN0905

DSCN0874

DSCN0914

 

I was hoping for more flower displays.

DSCN0917

 

Maybe new flower varieties, or some hybrids. Anything flower related!

DSCN0870

DSCN0855

IF you want to visit I would recommend weekend nights. As you can see by the pictures there were very few people around.  It took us about an hour and half to leisurely see everything there was offered.  Really, if I had spent $19 a person I would have been very disappointed.  I did not expect alot going in but I expected to see flower information.

 

 

Categories: Trip Reviews | Tags: , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Chicago Flower and Garden Show at Navy Pier

  1. Great post! I love your blog as well! I have my own landscape post today (http://helloscarlettblog.com/2014/03/28/here-comes-the-sun/). I’d love to hear your thoughts!

    Emory
    helloscarlettblog.com

  2. Musings

    Pretty and colourful! Thank you for sharing your visit with us. I hope the show and spring’s arrival had given you much joy.

  3. Pretty… and not bad since you received a discount.

  4. What a great show!! I so need to get to the flower show next year!!
    Thanks for linking up with me!

  5. kim

    I’m sure the sheer variety is worth a walk through! I love seeing all the unique flora.

  6. Hello! Stopping by from The Small Sunday Victories Link-Up! This flower show looks fantastic. The pictures look like a lot of fun!

  7. Gorgeous. My favorite time is spring and I love flower shows! I wish I would have thought to go this year!! Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!

  8. Springtime and flower shows — seem to go well together. Glad you got admission discount. I enjoyed the show through your shots!

  9. Thanks for taking us around; have a nice Thursday

    much love…

  10. Magnificent pictures!!! Must have been a grand time!

  11. Magnificent!

    So wonderful to have you at Seasonal Sundays. Looking forward to having you join this weekend as well!

    – Alma, The Tablescaper

  12. Looked like the typical flower and garden show to me with the lovely landscape displays. Our garden show does have flower categories where we get to see hybrids and flowers grown by individuals for ribbons. That’s the part I like best. Your photos were excellent. If you’re ever in Southern California the Huntington Gardens are fabulous.

  13. I needed a boost – having cabin fever and thinking Spring is never going to arrive at Iowa! Your pictures cheered me up. Thanks for sharing on the Four Seasons Blog Hop

  14. It looks like it was worth it to me….lots of great inspiration!

  15. This show looked like fun! Loved your photos, especially the one of the chicken and barnyard!! Thanks for sharing them!

  16. A great show, but like you, I would have wanted to see more floral displays. Thanks for visiting my blog as I viisted “Blooms and Butterflies”.

  17. Oh I love flower shows/garden displays. Wish my boys enjoyed them to go with me. This looks beautiful. Thanks for sharing with #smallvictoriessunday linky 13 last week. This week’s linky is open so hope you link up to 3 posts with us!

  18. This looks like a fun show! I am inspired by looking at your photos!
    Thank you for stopping by the Thoughtful Spot Weekly Blog Hop this week. We hope to see you drop by our neck of the woods next week!

  19. I love flowers too, so I can understand your disappointment. There were some lovely displays though. Thank you for sharing at What We Accomplished Wednesdays. Have a great week! ~Deborah

  20. We used to go to Navy Pier all the time! Not sure I ever went to the Flower and Garden show, but still it was a nice trip down memory lane 🙂 Moved to Florida a little over a year ago, but loved our time in Chicago, thanks for sharing! ~Kelly @ Eyes on the Source

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

