Free tickets to Kennedy Space Center in Florida

IMG_8616

We visited the Kennedy Space Center in Florida prior to our cruise. I had heard about the possibility of receiving free tickets, and free is better than paying $50 for a adult.  So I did some reading on the internet and it seemed to be a legit program.  We gave it a try and received a letter by mail that we could pick up our complementary tickets on our date at the will call window.  My husband wasn’t sure it would really work but we visited Kennedy Space Center for the $10 parking fee.  We did not pay $50 for an adult and $40 for a child. This saved our family $140 on our vacation!

This is how we did it but they no longer offer this program……

 

Email your local congressman exactly six months prior to the tour date requesting up to four tickets for your family.

My email read something like this:

Dear Congressman ___________,

I was told that I could contact you in regards to free tickets to Kennedy Space Center at Port Canaveral, FL. My daughter which is 11, my husband and I are going down there September 25-30 for a cruise for my daughter’s birthday and thought this would be an excellent learning experience fro my daughter. Any opportunity I can find to further her education in a fun atmosphere, I am very interested in. The three of us would like to visit on September 26th if possible.

Thanks for your help!
Sincerely,

 

Here is what is included in the tickets:
Tickets may be picked up any time after 9:00 a.m. on the day of the tour. The Center opens at 9:00 a.m. The bus tours begin running at 9:45 a.m., and run every 15 minutes. Tour passes will be held at the Visitor Center and should be picked up as soon as possible, but no later than 2:00 p.m., to ensure that you do not miss the tour. These tickets include:

• Admission to the Main Complex, including all exhibits and shows

• Bus tour, which includes the LC-39 Observation Gantry, International Space Station Center and the Apollo Saturn V Center

• Opportunity to see both IMAX Movies

• Visit to the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame, which includes the museum of personal artifacts and interactive activity floor simulators

• A second day free for use at the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame® – must be used within seven day

 

Here is a website to find your representative: http://whoismyrepresentative.com/

 

Too bad they no longer offer this as an option.  It was a great way to visit and they also are not members of the ASTC passport program.

Categories: Discounts, How I Save on Travel | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Free tickets to Kennedy Space Center in Florida

  1. Pingback: Visiting Kennedy Space Center in Florida | stretchingittotravel

  2. Unfortunately NASA has changed this effective August 2014. No more free tickets from Senators and Congressman. Instead you can now get free tickets to launches only, which was more exclusive but less frequent.

  3. I am going to give this a try for the next time we go to Disney. We did not have time scheduled for it, but the free tickets would make it easier to find time. Thanks for the insight.

    Just read the comment below. Well, it might still work, so I have nothing to lose.

    Keep cranking,

    Robert the DividendDreamer

  4. Laura

    I contacted our Representative in 2014, who was being replaced in 2015 and got a response having nothing to do with my request. I thanked her for her loyal service & wished her well. Then I made the same request of the new Representative in January 2015, but have still not received a response :(.

    • Shoot, hope you have better luck with this new rep. We did not hear back for a long time. The first year I tried I never heard back from my rep.

      • Laura

        I just got home & received a very nice message from Kathleen Rice’s office, but unfortunately it is true, NASA is not allowing complementary tickets to the Space Center via Congressional offices any longer. They were nice enough though to let me know when the next launches are and offered free tickets to them if I would like.

  5. I loved this place and so did my son. Well worth a visit!

  6. So, sad this program ended . Though if you and your family enjoy beautiful National Parks.you might enjoy this post and its freebies 🙂

    https://reallifeofanmsw.com/2016/04/01/2016-free-admission-days-in-national-parks

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

