Travel and Cost Breakdown for our Anniversary Trip

We decided pretty much at the last minute to go away for our anniversary.  Three weeks prior we made our decision that we wanted to visit Charleston, South Carolina. And then I saw how close Savannah was and threw it in for good measure…

April 23rd I bought our airline tickets to fly out on May 8th.  16 days before travel is not how I usually do things, I am a planner and this was stressing me out! Flying on short notice over Mother’s Day weekend was not helping the airfare costs in our local area.  I finally found tickets with flight times that worked for us from Midway to Charleston and back. (And they did not use up our whole tax refund in the process, a plus!)

Southwest 3:55pm nonstop to Charleston – $209 each

Delta 12:33 Flight from Charleston to Detroit to Midway – $144 each

National Car Rental – $122.10 – a Hyundai Sonata

Country Inn and Suites – North Charleston – $0 – 2 nights on points

Country Inn and Suites – Savannah Historic District – $0 – 2 nights on points

Foley House Inn – $199.20 – Our anniversary splurge!

Image

Not too bad considering our hotel nights were free on points.  I think if I had booked airfare a couple of months out we could have done better on the price. I was pleased with the rental car costs at $122 for the area. All in all I was happy with the costs, and we loved the Foley House Inn.

 

 

Categories: How I Save on Travel, Trip Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

