Old Sheldon Church Ruins – Yemassee, South Carolina

I had seen pictures of the Sheldon Church Ruins on Tripadvisor while researching our anniversary trip.  I wanted to stop by and check out the ruins if we could, luckily they were less than ten minutes out of our way on the drive to Savannah.

There is a large sign on the corner of US 17 and Old Sheldon Church Road indicating the historical site. And another large sign in front of the church, parking is to the left side of the road.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

They had set up for a wedding when we visited on a Saturday afternoon. I couldn’t help but think what an unusual and beautiful place for a wedding!

Image

Image

You can find the old Sheldon Church ruins at Old Sheldon Church Rd, Yemassee, SC 29945.  I put that road into my GPS and it got me to the correct intersection with Highway 21 / Highway 17.  From there I followed the historical marker signs.   There is no admission or parking costs.

 

 

Categories: Trip Reviews | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Old Sheldon Church Ruins – Yemassee, South Carolina

  1. What a neat place! Thanks for sharing!

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

  2. How do you acquire an historical marker in South Carolina?

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.