Giving the Gift of Travel

I will be honest, I was tired of all the stuff at Christmas. Not to sound ungrateful but when Daughter was younger Christmas meant toys coming out of our ears.  Then when we started to take larger family vacations we cut back on the stuff.  Daughter gets one larger gift and then its supplemented with books and a couple of cheap movies from Amazon.  One Christmas I was at a loss so I took drastic measures and gave our family a travel gift!

I paid the deposit on a Disney cruise which was a very low amount at the time.  I figured this would be alright with Husband since we had been talking about taking a cruise for a couple of months prior but better safe than sorry.  At the time they were still building the Disney Dream and cabins were not really selling that well.  I got a heck of a deal on this Disney cruise so I was excited.  But how to break it to the family?

IMG_6814

I found a large box at work and wrapped it in Santa wrap…

IMG_6819

Inside I put our cruise confirmation.  Some pictures I had printed from the website like the kids club and Castaway Cay.  I also found a picture of where our room would be on the ship.

IMG_6824

IMG_6828

Good thing Husband was smiling also…

IMG_6830

I think Daughter was excited too…

IMG_6833

And for added weight I had places a pair of their shorts into the box as lower filler.  It was winter, they were not going to notice them missing.  You don’t want a light package, it had to be realistic!

 

 

 

Categories: Disney | Tags: , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Giving the Gift of Travel

  1. I love that you included a picture of where your cabin would be on the ship!! What a great idea! 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! It was easy when they were building the ship to see all the cabin and the deck layouts and to get pictures online.

      • Very cool!! I’m hoping my next trip will be on the Disney Fantasy!
        How did you like the Dream??

  2. milamyk

    What a cute idea!

  3. How awesome! Travel is a gift that will last a long time. So many memories to fill their heart. We just sent our daughter to spend a week with her best friend from grade school days. I think I’m safe in saying your daughter was happy. Cute picture! ~Pamela

  4. We gave our children a trip gift one year to Snowshoe WV.. They love to snowboard, so it was the perfect gift for our family.

  5. How cute! Love this idea! 🙂

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

  6. This is an awesome way to gift such a great trip!

  7. That’s a super cute idea. I love giving experiences instead of material possessions – adorable!

  8. What a great idea! We’ve taken to hiding the kids gifts (they are the only grand kids, so super spoiled) and bringing them out throughout the year (I may also regift them for kids bday parties but shh don’t tell ;-).
    I think gifting experiences is the best idea.
    Found via coast to coast blog party.

  9. What a cool idea. I’m leaving for Disney in a few days. Couldn’t be more excited!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

