Planning the Next Adventure! Washington D.C.

Our next adventure was started by an email from Airfare Watchdog.  I had previously signed up on their site and randomly read the emails they send me about airfare from my local airport.  This time when I read it I spied $88 round trip tickets from Detroit to Dulles.  I looked at the dates but nothing that worked for me in Aug/ Sept.

A few days later I am reading another email from Airfare Watchdog and I see the same rate.  This time I dug further into the dates and saw that late fall had some availability.  Bingo!  Daughter has fall break and I could get the time off work.  I booked those tickets on Frontier before the day was over!

Do not wait too long and think that an airfare will stay at a low rate.  For Frontier this seems to be a newer route for them so the price is still low, I got lucky that it was still offered pretty inexpensively! When I was last purchasing airfare the prices were changing by the hour while shopping for New York.  If you see a good fare jump on it!

I am still ironing out hotels.  Hotel prices seem to be running well above $200 a night and I just do not want to lay that kind of cash out for a few nights on a “cheap” trip!  I need to look at my hotel point inventory better.

Club Carlson gives me a few options.  There is a Country Inn and Suites out by Dulles but that is too far to commute each day (20 miles to the White House) but its only $129. There is the Radisson Largo which is starting at $173 a night but its almost a mile walk to the Metro station or waiting for their shuttle.  Its 12 miles to the White House so a little further out than I still want to be.  Or there is a Radisson near Reagan Airport in Crystal City.  This hotel is 3 miles from the White House but its also $209 a night. I could use points for these instead of cash.

IF Marriott is offering the stay 2 times get a night free I might be looking their way.  This seems to be a steady promotion but you never know for sure until the dates get closer.  I need a night at the Detroit airport before we leave so that would get me two stays in the promo period easily.

The Courtyard Washington D.C. / Capital is $269 and a couple of miles to the White House.  The FairField downtown is $239 a night. They are six blocks from the White House so that would be a pretty good location! I need to see how many points they take to book.

So a few things to nail down once I see the fall promotions being released.  Earn the free hotel nights as you burn the nights.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Planning the Next Adventure! Washington D.C.

  1. When we went to Washington D.C. many years ago we did two things that payed off well.

    1. Contact your US Senator’s office for tickets to key attractions and tours several weeks prior to your trip: US Capital Building, FBI Building, Bureau of Engraving, Ford’s Theater, US Archives are a few. These tickets were free back then and you got in an hour before they opened to general tourists. The tours at each of these is extraordinary.

    2. Park and ride: the subway is the best and quickest way to get around town and you don’t have to find a parking space (and pay for it) that doesn’t exist in the first place.

    We plan on taking our kids in the next year or two. We spent a week there before, tours in the morning and the Smithsonian in the afternoon, and were exhausted by the time the week ended. It was one of our best ever vacations.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

