What place draws you back?

I have been several places, I have even more on my list.  But one place keeps drawing me back over the years.  What is that place for you, where is it?  What about it pulls you back?

IMG_3380

The early morning solitude before the other campers wake up.

IMG_3381

The memories of spending time there each summer and then being able to watch my daughter do the same thing.

IMG_3369

Ludington State Park in Michigan, one of the best places on earth.

 

 

 

Categories: Trip Reviews | Tags: , , | 71 Comments

Post navigation

71 thoughts on “What place draws you back?

  1. ramblingsofaperforatedmind

    Mexico!

  2. Oh that quiet, lonely time at the beginning of the day – in such a beautiful place – that is so wonderful! So glad you have a special place that you can now see your daughter enjoy too. I don’t know if I have one special place, but there have been quite a few we have loved to create memories in. Thanks for sharing.

  3. it looks so beautiful there.

  4. That does look like a lovely place to visit. I’m looking forward to visiting a new place, a waterfall, on a short trip with my husband.

  5. how beautiful!

  6. normaleverydaylifeblog

    Beautiful pictures! I’ve never been to Michigan, but my parents are looking forward to a trip there in September. Thanks for linking up to Motivational Monday!

  7. Coombe Country Park near where I live in coventry always draws me back. I love this spot of yours in Michigan.

  8. It does looks pretty and peaceful there. I love the foggy scene… Great shots, enjoy your day!

  9. Craig Springs, VA. Specifically we attend a family retreat there and while the accommodations aren’t much the company there and beauty of the place more than make up for it.

  10. We recently went camping on a mountain area and we camp near a small flowing river and I want to go back there. I can live there if I can =) #ww

  11. Yosemite National Park!

  12. Looks beautiful. I love the outdoors too. Yellowstone is my happy place; particularly, the Old Faithful Inn. It’s magical. The animals are amazing. I could stay there for months and still be just as mesmerized as if it were my first visit. Sigh. (Inspired to Google up cheap airfare now…) 🙂

  13. Beautiful, thanks for sharing! How wonderful the memories you are creating with your daughter, to last a lifetime. I love going camping at the lake & going out on the boat before anyone else gets on the water… so peaceful 🙂

  14. I love lakes and waterfalls. There is something peaceful about water. Beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing them.

  15. That does look really serene.

  16. What a beautiful and peaceful spot 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with us at Together on Tuesdays!

  17. So great to have a place that draws you back over and over! It’s changed for us… used to be the local mountains and a small lake community where we had a cabin. Now its the desert and the Joshua Tree area.

  18. I would definitely have to say Chicago is that place for me! My mom is from the Chicago area so I grew up going up there every year. Now my fiance is from there so we have a lot of reasons to make trips up there. It’s my favorite city in the world and I always feel at home when I see the skyline!

  19. I have never been to Michigan either, but it looks like a great place to visit… Michelle from Nature Notes…

  20. The answer to that question for me it two places, Greece and Philadelphia… world apart but both places I feel very at home in

    Mollyxxx

  21. Lovely shots – thanks for sharing!

  22. I love this, the lake loos beautiful! I am always drawn back to the beach, my hubby grew up there! The calm of the ocean and the soft sand…love it! Stopping by from creative ways link party 🙂
    Cathy

  23. I love the sound of Lake Michigan best. I even like to photograph it weekly in the winter months. I like walking the beach finding things like rocks and sea shells.
    JM, Illinois

  24. kim

    A good think spot is a wonderful thing to have. These are lovely!

  25. *sigh pretty. My favorite place to return to is Storm King Art Center, a giant park that of giant sculptures from Alexander Calder to Maya Lin. My son and I walk/romp all day through that landscape, and what makes me love it so much is that I see him so happy there each time we go.

  26. I’ve been lucky enough to travel to so many places that draw me back. This fall I’m hoping to go to Switzerland a second time which I’ve been dreaming about since I first went there 9 years ago.

  27. balmtomysoul

    Beautiful. I am drawn back to a quiet wood where I can hear the water rolling down the mountains. I think it is connected to memories of childhood, where I felt utter peace and calm. Isn’t it funny where we are drawn. I think it is truly connected to the memories and feelings of peace, calm, and happiness that we feel there. Love the pics!! Made me feel like I was there for an instant!

  28. I don’t know if one place draws me in – I tend to love new discoveries . . . although I would love to live in Beijing again

  29. Beautiful!!! It’s the beach for me, the beach always draws me back.

  30. I think for me it’s Berlin–luckily we have family there! Great photos and great question!

  31. One of the places that draws me back is Atelier Cézanne located in Aix-en-Provence. Even more than a century after his death, his presence can be felt.

  32. For me it’s Iceland, it’s a magnetic attraction, can’t resist !

  33. roth0003

    Nice shots!
    Please share your photos at the new home for Wordless Wednesday (on Tuesday) at http://image-in-ing.blogspot.com/p/other-wordless-wednesday.html. I hope to see you each week!

  34. a lovely place to just breathe. Beautiful post. We ( hubby and I ) are draw to the Oregon Cost. Thank you for sharing your sweet blog at the Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop xo

  35. Beautiful. Peaceful looking place!

  36. So gorgeous. I love this. I have so many places that draw me back – I’ve moved a lot from Virginia (to LA and my current home in Rome, Italy) but I find myself always wanting and needing to be back in Virginia. It has my heart.

  37. Wonderful post! Pinned. I’m always impressed with your creations. Please join us tonight at 7 pm. I can’t wait to see what you have been working on! http://loulougirls.blogspot.com/
    Happy Monday! Lou Lou Girls

  38. Looks gorgeous! I can see why it keeps calling your name. Thanks for sharing it with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  39. I LOVE Ludington state park! It’s my favorite camping spot. Your pictures bring it all back. Thanks for visiting my blog and liking my posts. I am new to blogging so a visitor really means a lot.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

