Time to Share One of My Favorite Trips!

When I first dove into points and miles in a larger way than just signing up for the hotel points program I started with Southwest Airlines.  I signed up for the credit card and received 50,000 miles.  My plan was to use the 50,000 miles to fly our family to Orlando for our planned Disney Cruise.

However, husband hates to drive more than he hates to fly!  Southwest was not at our area airport, we had to drive a couple of hours to use them.  I was thinking free flights, I will drive an extra hour for that!  He was not on the same page.  So I had 50,000 miles laying around with no plans, and Husband was not going to another airport.

I started brain storming the places I wanted to visit.  (This was a fun list to make!)  Then I heard the King Tut exhibit was in Seattle and then leaving the United States.  Daughter had really, really wanted to see this when it was in Chicago but at the time I thought she was too young.

I asked my Mom if she wanted to travel with us, I had the miles and the hotel room.  She was game and we settled on a date a little over a month from when I booked the tickets.  Leaving late Wednesday night and coming back Sunday morning. My Daughter was so excited to be able to see King Tut’s exhibit and miss school.

We used 50,000 Southwest Miles for 2 round trip and 1 one way ticket.  I paid for my return leg from Seattle.  We used Club Carlson points for 2 free nights at the Radisson and then 2 points and cash nights.  This gave us 3 full days in the Seattle area.

My Mom being a coupon clipper had several Denny’s Coupons that came in very handy for a cheaper breakfast. The time zone change had us looking for breakfast at 4am.  Denny’s was up the street and open!

Lunch was Groupon or Restuarant.com discounts I found online.  And the day we visited Pike Market we bought some fruit and pastries for snacks.

The commuter train is located a couple of blocks from the Radisson, in front of the airport. We rode the train in each morning and then back to the airport at night.  The Radisson is straight across from the airport so we did not have a rent a car!

We did what we could to keep the costs down and have an enjoyable trip!!!!!  We are now still trying to get Husband to go for a few days if he can sit that long on an airplane.

s1

 

Categories: Trip Reviews | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Time to Share One of My Favorite Trips!

  1. Very nice use for your miles 😀

  2. I hadn’t thought of finding Groupon deals when I travel. Great tip! We do it a lot at home, so I don’t know what I didn’t think of it before.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

