The Hard Decision

I had a hard decision the other day regarding our upcoming DC trip.  I am still not sure IF this was the best choice but what to do?

For kicks I checked Hotwire for my dates that I need an airport hotel in Detroit.  We are meeting my sister the night before our flight and driving to DTW airport.  The Westin (only hotel with 4 stars and all the requirements) was on Hotwire for $103 a night.  My brain is screaming Westin $103 instead of their hotel rate of $279.  Really nice hotel for $103!!!!!  Book it!!!!

I had booked the Fairfield Inn with parking for 8 nights at $119 a few weeks earlier.  Honestly I wanted to dump my Fairfield reservation.  I could still park at the Qwik park for $37 for our trip and the total difference with parking was around $25.  I really, really wanted to book it!!!!! I avoid Priceline when I need two beds just in case the hotel is unable to grant that request.

But the practical side of me took over.  We will not arrive at the hotel until around 9pm.  We need to leave out of a different terminal than the hotel is in around 6:30 am.  Not a huge deal but something we need to leave time for.  I would have to pay for breakfast either at the airport or at the Westin so that was an added cost.  Really in the room for less than 9 hours…

It did not make sense to book the Westin even thought I really, really wanted to.  And i will earn Marriott rewards on the Fairfield even though I am splitting the cost with my sister.   Sometime I am going to stay at the Westin before a trip and hope I get a room that faces the planes.

west

Photo from Tripadvisor

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

