Buying Beef by the Quarter

We have in the past purchase half a pig at a time.  This works well for our family and we eat off it for a long time.  The price is much less than paying store retail!  I visited the butcher planning on purchasing half a pig again.  Pork was priced at $1.99 a pound, up a bit from time.  They had a sign up for beef hind quarter at $3.59 a pound.  Hey now!

For the extra bit I would rather have a freezer full of beef!  So I made a phone call to my husband to see what his thoughts were and he was on board.  They were going to cut it the next week so I had a little time to figure out a freezer strategy!

The butcher went over with me how I wanted it cut.  How many steaks in a pack and how thick to cut the steaks.  How many pounds of ground beer per pack? Did I want hamburger patties?  Did I want soup bones?

The hanging weight of our quarter was 185lbs.  I weighed my bags of meat when we came home and I had 108lb of meat.  Almost 30 packages of ground beef that will last us a long time!  And bunches of steaks, that is what husband is happiest about.

beef

So the cost was $664.15 for my 108 pounds.  We will see how long it takes us to go through the beef.  It will be a refreshing change from pork this summer.  And I will admit that you don’t want to try to get anything from the freezer right now…. Its in there like a puzzle and I don’t want to admit how much I was sweating if it would all fit! We might have had to pull out the next couple of nights meals to make it go.

Here is a link to my post about buying Pork: https://stretchingittotravel.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/how-do-you-purchase-your-meat/

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Buying Beef by the Quarter

  1. kim

    That haul looks great! We went in on 1/8 of a cow once, but it was a bad deal for us because they organizer did not adhere to our cut preferences. I ended up with 14 T-bone steaks when I requested to not receive any of that cut. I had high hopes for it working out. I would like to try it again with more reliable organizers because I love the idea of grass fed beef!

  2. How neat!

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

  3. Jann Olson

    We buy both beef and pork this way. In fact, hubby just came home and said that he had ordered a pork. He has a friend that raises the beef. Nice to know where your meat is coming from. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  4. Great post. Pinned and tweeted. Please join us on Monday at 7 pm and party with us! It is so super fun to see what you have been working on! Lou Lou Girls

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

