When in NOLA…

We try to sample regional foods when we hit a new area on vacation.  I knew I had to find some beignets because I love them but the other items I was not so sure about.  A Po-boy and a Muffuletta are not offered in my neck of the woods.   And I can be a picky eater sometimes.

We were walking back from the French Market when we walked past Central Grocery.  I made the very reluctant family go inside.  Really, they were complaining about having to eat something.  Once they got a good whiff inside they were game to share a half of a Muffuletta with me.  The line moves pretty quickly so do not let it discourage you.

Central Grocery

A post shared by Stretchingittotravel (@stretchingittotravel) on

Instead of sharing tables in the back of the grocery we took ours to Jackson Square to share on a bench.

Muffuletta from Central Grocery

A post shared by Stretchingittotravel (@stretchingittotravel) on

I tried my first bite and knew I was not a fan of the olive spread.  I was able to scrap most of it off my side and onto my husbands.  He loved it!  Daughter liked the meat and cheese but also was not an olive fan.

I would order a Po-boy again before the Muffuletta.  It still is very weird to me that you put lettuce, mayo, pickle and tomato on a gravy covered sandwich

Hot beef po boy & gator bites

A post shared by Stretchingittotravel (@stretchingittotravel) on

If you want to try Central Grocery they are open daily from 9-5.

More information here: http://centralgrocery.com/

CENTRAL GROCERY
923 Decatur St.
New Orleans, LA 70116

 

Categories: Trip Reviews | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

