Cheap Produce – Cucumber Salad

I always stop to check the reduced produce rack at our local grocery store. Sometimes its bags of potatoes that have ripped open or misshapen fruit. Often I can find things we can use or freeze.  I love to freeze peppers and use them when peppers are high priced over the winter.  Cut them into strips and toss them into a zip lock in the freezer.

This last time I found a bag of misshapen cucumbers for $1.  Our local cucumbers will not be ready for a couple of months so it was nice to have cucumber salad with our grilled pork steak for dinner.

Image

So easy to make!  Start with around 2 cups of mayo or miracle whip.  Add in a rounding 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of vinegar.  Mix that well and stir in the thinly sliced cucumbers. I leave it in the fridge for a hour or so before dinner.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Four Seasons Blog Hop - Easy Life Meal & Party Planning

http://kwgls.wordpress.com/2014/06/25/four-seasons-blog-hop-55-26-june-2014/

Categories: Saving Money | Tags: , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Cheap Produce – Cucumber Salad

  1. OMG your blog is full of amazing tricks ! *__*

  2. kim

    Yum! I love cucumber salads in summer. Thank you for sharing this variation!

  3. This looks so simple and fresh! I eat cucumbers by the bucket during the summer. I can’t wait to try them like this!

  4. I love cucumber salad. Haven’t ever seen discounted produce at our local grocers. I’ll have to look better. Thanks for sharing the recipe with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  5. Simple, easy, and delicious! Thank you for sharing at the HomeAcre Hop; I hope you’ll join us again this Thursday.
    Kathi at Oak Hill Homestead

  6. Pingback: Four Seasons Blog Hop #55 (26 June 2014) | GUAI SHU SHU

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.