I Should Have Checked the Weather – Visiting the Statue of Liberty

When I packed for New York I assumed they would have the same weather we were having. Hot and Sunny. I packed the sunscreen, the shorts and tank tops.  We were busy and I never looked at the weather report.  We woke up the rain the last full day of our trip, not soft gentle rain but a down pour!

I was not going to let rain keep us inside, I had a full day planned of sight seeing.  The number one pick of the trip for Daughter was to see the Statue of Liberty.  I had a plan to ride the Stanten Ferry (its free and offers a good view) to give her the best views.  Then the rain got in the way.  We put on our ponchos and hurried through the downpour to an open variety store to purchase a couple of umbrellas.  The umbrellas kept us relatively dry until we were able to board the train.

Popping out of the station from the five line put us right at the bottom of the financial district. We had to walk three or four blocks to Battery Park. The rain had slowed to more of a mist but with the fog over the water we decided it just did not make sense to ride the ferry.

This was our view from Battery Park…

Image

Image

Saturday when we flew in from the north we had a great view of her in the sun before landing.

Battery Park itself was very pretty.

Image

And we took time to tour Castle Clinton.

Image

Even though it was not pouring the taller buildings were hidden by the clouds.

Image

I wish we had a picture when we encountered a huge puddle that took up the whole walk way.  There was a large group of tourists trying to ease through on the right side where it was not as deep.  I did not want to walk all the way back around and waiting to cross was going to take a long time.  I threw daughter up on my back to save her tennis shoes and off we went.  The puddle was much deeper than I had anticipated but my sandals were already wet from the rain.  It gave us a good laugh to have her holding two umbrellas and trying to stay on my back.

 

Categories: Trip Reviews | Tags: , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “I Should Have Checked the Weather – Visiting the Statue of Liberty

  1. Sorry you were rained on!!

  2. Oh what a shame! Well, it was a memorable day out and hopefully you found a nice New York eatery for lunch?! We were in New York at Easter and loved it!
    Wren x
    OWT #100

  3. Oh dear, looks like England weather to me

    Mollyxxx

  4. Looks like you managed to find some enjoyment, even with bad weather.

  5. unknownmami

    I love that you didn’t let the weather stop you.

  6. I’m sorry it rained, but it looks like you had fun! Pinned. Thanks so much for being a part of our party! Please join us tonight at 7 pm. We love having YOU! http://loulougirls.blogspot.com/
    Happy Monday! Lou Lou Girls

  7. Jayne on Weed Street

    You had a good sense of humor, which my husband says is something you need plenty of on any family vacation!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.